SQL (Structured Query Language) categories

SQL (Structured Query Language) categories in three Languages
  • Data Definition Language (DDL)

Which is also known for Data Description Language used for specifying the database schema like to create, modify and destroy tables, view, index and stored procedure
1. A CREATE statement (example of Create Table)
2. A DROP statement (example of Drop Table)
3. An ALTER statement (example of Alter Table)
4. Referential integrity statements (Example of implementing as a primary key and foreign key tags in some columns of the tables.)

  • Data Manipulation Language (DML)
    Which is used to manipulation or query data using insert into, delete from, update and select statements.

  • Data control language (DCL)
    Which is used to control access using Grant and Revoke Statement for database access and data stored in a database.

Posted on February 06, 2014 by Amit Pandya in SQL

All Posts